Messe Frankfurt | Digital Brand Management

Slim and inspiring.
A new brand portal for Messe Frankfurt.

Katja Wenger
by Katja Wenger

Messe Frankfurt, one of the world's leading trade fair organisers, commissioned us to develop a new brand portal that would run independently of its own IT and be easy to maintain. The idea behind it: manual users should think for themselves. Because of the many touchpoints and different markets, consistency across all media and markets can no longer be enforced. So you have to empower people in marketing, in the individual countries or at the corresponding partner companies to understand what the brand is all about. If the basic understanding is right, you can't do so much wrong anymore.

lineup
screenshot
messescreen
BRAND PORTAL

The page actually has two faces. There's the Guideline section and on the right there's a bar that goes into the picture when you click on it. This magazine section then shows best practices from other companies: great trade fair stands, exciting brand appearances, interesting examples from the world of brands and marketing. Users can use a call-to-action button to submit their own examples, which are then posted there. Messe Frankfurt wants to use it to improve the user experience on the portal and ensure that you don't just go there because you urgently need something or need to look it up.

In the magazine area and in the guidelines, we have introduced a keyword area in which you can search better. Agencies can register without an approval process, because there are no secret things in the portal - which has also drastically reduced the costs for security. The image database can only be used with authentication because the material is legally protected there.

You can find out more about the project in an interview with think moto managing director Marco Spies in PAGE.

screen1
screen2

Messe Frankfurt

Schlank und inspirierend.
Ein neues Markenportal für die Messe Frankfurt.

Katja Wenger
von Katja Wenger

Die Messe Frankfurt, einer der weltweit führenden Messeveranstalter, beauftragte uns mit der Entwicklung eines neuen Markenportals, das unabhängig von der hauseigenen IT laufen und leicht zu pflegen sein sollte. Der Gedanke dahinter: die Manual-User sollen selber denken. Denn wegen der vielen Touchpoints und unterschiedlichen Märkte lässt sich Konsistenz über sämtliche Medien und Märkte hinweg nicht mehr erzwingen. Ergo muss man die Leute im Marketing, in den einzelnen Ländern oder auch bei entsprechenden Partnerunternehmen dazu befähigen, zu verstehen, was die Marke ausmacht. Stimmt das Grundverständnis, kann man gar nicht mehr so viel falsch machen.

lineup
screenshot
messescreen
Markenportal

Die Seite hat eigentlich zwei Gesichter. Es gibt den Guideline-Bereich und rechts einen Balken, der ins Bild fährt, wenn man darauf klickt. Dieser Magazinbereich zeigt dann Best Practices anderer Unternehmen: tolle Messestände, spannende Markenauftritte, also interessante Beispiele aus der Welt rund um Marke und Marketing. Über einen Call-to-Action-Button können User eigene Beispiele einreichen, die dann dort gepostet werden. Die Messe Frankfurt will damit das Nutzererlebnis auf dem Portal verbessern und erreichen, dass man nicht nur dort hingeht, weil man dringend etwas braucht oder nachschlagen muss.

Im Magazinbereich sowie in den Guidelines haben wir einen Schlagwortbereich eingeführt, in dem man besser suchen kann. Agenturen können sich ohne Freigabeprozess anmelden, denn es stehen keine geheimen Dinge im Portal – was auch die Kosten für die Absicherung drastisch reduziert hat. Die Bilddatenbank kann man nur mit Authentifizierung nutzen, weil das Material dort rechtlich geschützt ist.

Mehr über das Projekt erfahren Sie im Interview mit think moto Geschäftsführer Marco Spies in der PAGE:

http://page-online.de/branche-karriere/nervige-corporate-design-portale-hier-sind-die-gruende-fuer-offenere-designregeln/

screen1
screen2