Continental | Global Digital Experience

Global Website for Continental: How Tires Turn into Emotional Products

A tire is a tire? Far from it! A tire is the main actor for an unforgettable driving experience, is a safety guardian on wet roads, is an ally for the most diverse types of vehicles. It is not just any product, but the product that brings out the best in every vehicle. Thus, the website relaunch for Continental tires was also about presenting the tire as a sensual premium product and granting it an appropriate stage on the website.

The Crucial Characteristics for a Successful Rebranding

As part of our design strategy process, in the discovery workshop it became clear that a traditionally product-heavy company like Continental will only be able to maintain its leading role on the global market if it focuses on users and their needs, makes products and services easily accessible to them, and clearly highlights their benefits—a real challenge given Continental’s extensive product range.

The brand personality developed in the workshop provided the characteristics that are so crucial for success, because they span the arc between visionary, supportive and experienced action. Subsequently, we aligned our brand filters precisely with this, providing the framework for look and feel, information architecture, interaction and animation, as well as content and the tone of voice.

grafik_conti

The Website as a Smart and Sensual User Experience

In this particular case, a positive user experience entails proposing the right tire to users quickly, while at the same time engaging them on an emotional level. This is achieved by a well conceived interplay between visual language, text, animation and user guidance, which introduces the user to the world of tires in an exciting way. The tire becomes an adventure, conveys thrilling safety, invites the user to discover the product range and inspires with large-scale, sensual images.

icons

Clever Filter Options and Contextual Subpages

By means of a guided search, the different user groups—private and business customers—see the content relevant to them. Smart selection options guide them smoothly to the right products while highlights provide additional inspiration.

screens_zs

Up Close: the Tire and the Service

Since each tire is unique, it is presented against a different generative, animated background. The user sees both the benefit and the price at a glance and can obtain important service information via context-related call-to-action buttons. As a private customer, for example, about dealers and maintenance. The highlight, however, is zooming in on the respective tire, which allows the user to explore its multi-layered interior and learn about important functions along the way.

Looking to Turn Your Website into a True User Experience?

Simply drop us a line and we will be happy to show you our extensive portfolio of digital products and services.

Continental | Global Digital Experience

Globale Website für Continental: Wie aus Reifen emotionale Produkte werden

Ein Reifen ist ein Reifen? Weit gefehlt! Ein Reifen ist Hauptakteur für ein unvergessliches Fahrerlebnis, ist Sicherheitsgarant auf nasser Fahrbahn, ist Verbündeter der unterschiedlichsten Fahrzeugtypen. Er ist nicht irgendein Produkt, sondern das Produkt, das aus jedem Fahrzeug das Beste herausholt. So ging es auch beim Websiterelaunch für Continental-Reifen darum, den Reifen als sinnliches Premiumprodukt darzustellen und ihm auf der Website die entsprechende Bühne einzuräumen.

Die entscheidenden Charakteristika für eine gelungene Neuausrichtung

Im Discovery Workshop als Teil unseres Designstrategieprozesses wurde deutlich, dass ein traditionell produktlastiges Unternehmen wie Continental seine führende Rolle im internationalen Wettbewerb nur wird behaupten können, wenn es den Nutzer und seine Bedürfnisse in den Mittelpunkt stellt, ihm Produkte und Services leicht zugänglich macht und deren Vorteile klar herausstellt – eine echte Herausforderung angesichts der umfangreichen Produktpalette von Continental.

Die im Workshop erarbeitete Markenpersönlichkeit brachte die für den Erfolg so entscheidenden Wesensmerkmale mit, weil sie den Bogen zwischen visionärem, unterstützendem und erfahrenem Handeln spannt. Genau daran richteten wir im Folgenden auch unsere Markenfilter aus, die den Rahmen vorgaben für Look-and-feel, Informationsarchitektur, Interaktion und Animation sowie den Content und den Tone of Voice.

grafik_conti

Die Website als smarte, sinnliche User Experience

Eine positive User Experience bedeutete im konkreten Fall, den Nutzern schnell den passenden Reifen vorzuschlagen und sie gleichzeitig auf emotionaler Ebene abzuholen. Dies geschieht dank gelungenen Zusammenspiels von Bildsprache, Text, Animation und Nutzerführung, die auf spannende Art und Weise in die Welt der Reifen einführt. Der Reifen wird hier zum Abenteuer, vermittelt thrilling safety, lädt zum Entdecken der Produktpalette ein und inspiriert mit großformatigen, sinnlichen Bildern.

icons

Kluge Filteroptionen und kontextuelle Unterseiten

Mittels geführter Suche bekommen die unterschiedlichen Nutzergruppen – Privat- und Geschäftskunden – die für sie relevanten Inhalte vorgestellt. Durchdachte Auswahloptionen leiten sie souverän zu den passenden Produkten weiter. Highlights inspirieren zusätzlich.

screens_zs

Ganz nah dran: am Reifen und am Service

Da jeder Reifen einzigartig ist, erscheint er entsprechend vor einem anderen generativen, animierten Hintergrund. Auf einen Blick bekommen die User Vorteile und Preis genannt und erhalten über kontextuelle Call-to-Action-Buttons für sie wichtige Serviceinformationen. Als Privatkunde beispielsweise über Händler und Wartung. Der Höhepunkt jedoch ist der Zoom auf den jeweiligen Reifen, mittels dessen die Nutzer die vielschichtige Innenwelt des Reifens erforschen können und ganz nebenbei über wichtige Funktionen informiert werden.

Du möchtest aus deiner Website auch eine echte User Experience machen?

Dann schreib uns! Wir zeigen dir gerne unser umfangreiches Portfolio an digitalen Produkten und Services.