UAE 50th | Website with User Generated Content

The User Experience as an Active Journey through Time: UAE National Anniversary Website

On the occasion of their 50th National Anniversary, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) commissioned us to design their anniversary website. The UAE wanted the website to be a venue for remembering, dreaming, and doing, and to thrive primarily on user-generated content: As a place that spans the arc from the country's foundation to the present and already heralds the changes to come in the next 50 years. At the same time, it should provide information about the numerous events and news surrounding the celebrations.

Traversing the Decades with Dreamlike Certainty

In the discovery workshop with the client, we figured out that, in addition to the brand and bot personality, the website should primarily portray three dream phases:

  • Phase 1 (1971 to present): It is dedicated to the Early Dreamers, i.e. all those who, with their day-to-day actions replete with respect, tolerance and empathy, helped make the country what it is today—in line with the spirit of the UAE’s first president, Sheikh Zayed.
  • Phase 2 (2021): It is a writing dialog. Here, the seven leaders address their people in their “Letters to the Nation,” while users also have the chance to dream their future in a letter to their own selves.
  • Phase 3 (the next 50 years): Like the future, it is already being anticipated, but still in the making.
02_uae_overviewpage

A Conversational User Interface for the Stories of the Early Dreamers

A chatbot proved ideal for interacting with the Early Dreamers. Not only does it guide users step by step through the process of uploading their stories, it also encourages them to talk to an Early Dreamer in their family, for example. After all, often all it takes is the right nudge to bring memories to life. In line with its personality, the bot not only provides helpful tips on the conversational atmosphere and possible questions, but also gives users the opportunity to view stories from other Early Dreamers at any time.

03_uae_earlydreamersstories

Always Up-to-Date—with the WhatsApp Chatbot

A new story? A new event? If desired, the chatbot can also be accessed via WhatsApp: This way, users are even closer to the action and learn first-hand when there is new content on the website. At the same time, the bot provides information on all the website’s sections, whether it's the stories of the early dreamers, the letters to the nation or other news.

uae_website_animation

Letters to the Nation—Powerful Messages to the People, Succinctly Staged

How can the content of letters be anticipated in the user interface? By being as far-sighted and self-confident as the visions that the seven leaders of the UAE hold for the next 50 years. On the clearly structured page, users can access the individual letters at any time or sort them by emirate. In addition to the respective original letter, the continuous text below ensures optimal reading.

05_uae_lttn

Letters to the Future—the Dialog with Yourself and an Entire Nation

Just as the clear navigation encourages interaction, the language also inspires the user and lets them become active. Who wouldn’t want to share their thoughts in this empowering cosmos of a nation that celebrates its anniversary in such a poetic way?

And that’s why it’s time to get your dreams written and sealed—on UAE letterhead: “Our dreams come true if we put them in writing. Now it's your turn—write a letter to your future self!” Tomorrow’s visions can also be shared via photo or video. This way, the country can face 2071 with the conviction of having done the right thing and being in the right place: “Know whatever decision you made, it was the right one. You're here now, and you're exactly where you need to be.”

06.1-uae-lttf 06.2-uae-lttfletters

Need a Website with Everything in the Right Place? Or a Bot that Does the Talking?

Learn more about conversational experiences or drop us a line and we will be happy to get back to you.

Salama Bint Hamdan Al Nahyan Foundation | 50th Anniversary Website & Visitor Experience

Die User Experience als aktive Zeitreise: Website zum Staatsjubiläum der VAE

Anlässlich ihres 50-jährigen Staatsjubiläums beauftragten uns die Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate (VAE, auf Englisch: UAE), ihre Jubiläums-Website zu konzipieren. Die VAE wünschten sich die Website als Ort des Erinnerns, des Träumens und Handelns, die vor allem von User Generated Content leben sollte: Als ein Ort, der den Bogen spannt von der Gründung des Landes bis in die Gegenwart und bereits den Wandel der nächsten 50 Jahre einleitet. Gleichzeitig sollte sie über die zahlreichen Veranstaltungen und Neuigkeiten rund um die Feierlichkeiten informieren.

01_uae_startseite

Durch die Jahrzehnte mit traumwandlerischer Sicherheit

Im Discovery-Workshop mit dem Kunden erarbeiteten wir neben der Marken- und Botpersönlichkeit, dass die Website vor allem drei Traumphasen abbilden sollte:

  • Phase 1 (1971 bis heute): Sie ist den Early Dreamers gewidmet, also all jenen, die mit ihrem alltäglichen Tun voller Respekt, Toleranz und Empathie das Land zu dem machten, was es heute ist – ganz im Sinne des ersten Präsidenten der VAE, Sheikh Zayed
  • Phase 2 (2021): Sie ist ein schreibender Dialog. Hier richten sich die sieben Staatsoberhäupter in ihren „Letters to the Nation“ an ihr Volk, doch auch die User bekommen die Gelegenheit, in einem Brief ans eigene Ich ihre Zukunft zu träumen.
  • Phase 3 (die nächsten 50 Jahre): Sie ist wie die Zukunft bereits antizipiert, aber noch im Entstehen.
02_uae_overviewpage

Ein Conversational User Interface für die Geschichten der Early Dreamers

Für die Interaktion mit den Early Dreamers bot sich ein Chatbot an, der die User nicht nur Schritt für Schritt durch den Upload-Prozess ihrer Geschichten führt, sondern schon im Vorfeld dazu ermutigt, das Gespräch mit einem Early Dreamer beispielsweise in der Familie zu suchen. Denn oft reicht der richtige Anstoß, Erinnerungen lebendig werden zu lassen. So liefert der Bot seiner Persönlichkeit entsprechend nicht nur hilfreiche Tipps zu Gesprächsatmosphäre und möglichen Fragen, sondern eröffnet dem User die Möglichkeit, sich jederzeit Geschichten anderer Early Dreamers zeigen zu lassen.

03_uae_earlydreamersstories

Immer auf dem aktuellen Stand – mit dem WhatsApp-Chatbot

Eine neue Geschichte? Ein neues Event? Der Chatbot ist auf Wunsch auch über WhatsApp abrufbar: So sind die Nutzer noch näher dran am Geschehen und erfahren aus erster Hand, wenn es neuen Content auf der Website gibt. Gleichzeitig informiert der Bot über sämtliche Rubriken der Website, seien es die Geschichten der frühen Träumer, die Briefe an die Nation oder andere Neuigkeiten.

uae_website_animation

Letters to the Nation – kraftvolle Botschaften ans Volk, prägnant in Szene gesetzt

Wie lässt man den Inhalt von Briefen bereits in der Nutzerführung erahnen? Indem diese ebenso visionär und selbstbewusst ist wie die Visionen, die die sieben Staatsoberhäupter der VAE für die nächsten 50 Jahren haben. Auf der klar strukturierten Seite können die User jederzeit auf die einzelnen Briefe zugreifen oder nach Emiraten sortieren. Neben dem jeweiligen Originalbrief sorgt der Fließtext darunter für optimale Lesbarkeit.

05_uae_lttn

Letters to the Future – der Dialog mit sich selbst und einer ganzen Nation

Ebenso wie die klare Navigation zur Interaktion einlädt, inspiriert auch die Sprache den User und lässt ihn aktiv werden. Wer möchte nicht seine Gedanken teilen in diesem befähigenden Kosmos einer Nation, die ihr Jubiläum so poetisch begeht?

Und deswegen heißt es, sich Brief und Siegel auf seine Träume geben zu lassen – mit dem Briefkopf der VAE: „Our dreams come true if we put them in writing. Now it’s your turn – write a letter to your future self!“ Die Visionen fürs Morgen können auch mittels Foto oder Video geteilt werden. Damit das Land auch 2071 mit der Überzeugung begegnen kann, das Richtige getan zu haben und am richtigen Ort zu sein: „Know whatever decision you made, it was the right one. You’re here now, and you’re exactly where you need to be.“

06.1-uae-lttf 06.2-uae-lttfletters

Du möchtest auch eine Website, auf der alles am richtigen Ort ist? Oder einen Bot sprechen lassen?

Erfahre mehr über Conversational Experiences auf brandedconversations.de.
Oder kontaktiere uns direkt unter newbusiness@thinkmoto.de.