relayr | Name, CD and Website
Introduction

From Startup to Global Player - Naming, MVB, Website and Continuous Brand Building for relayr

Katja Wenger
by Katja Wenger

relayr is a client to whom we feel a special bond - and whose success story fills us with a little pride. In 2013, the founders of the IoT startup, then known as iThings4U, approached us with a request to help them visualize the Investor Pitch Deck. We not only created a catchy key visual that visually summarized the then new material of the Internet of Things, but also proposed a new name: iThings4U became relayr.

relayr-grafik
Design Process

Minimal Viable Branding

A catchy key visual and a new name were already a good start, but for a successful investor pitch it is always helpful to have a strategically suitable visual identity, even though it naturally has the character of the provisional for startups. However, relayr was at the very beginning: there was one business idea and three experienced founders. A classic branding process would have been too costly and also wrong, as it turned out later. Because relayr still had a few "pivots" in the business model ahead of it. So we developed our first Minimum Viable Brand, based on our think moto typical Discovery Workshop, which we should do two more times over the next few years: whenever the business strategy fundamentally changed.

relayr-mood

„Thank you for guiding us and creating a name to remember! Your creativity helped bring us into the world, give us shape and meaning! It was always a pleasure working with your team!"

– Jackson Bond, Co-Founder & Head of Product, relayr
relayr1
relayr today

Global player in the IIoT area

Today, five years later, relayr has become the leading innovation forge for the Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT) and provides the most comprehensive solution for risk-free digital transformation. relayr gains unique insights from data in existing industrial equipment or production lines, which its clients can use for their economic success. Today, relayr is trusted by hundreds of companies worldwide. In September 2018, Munich Re acquires 100% of the shares in relayr for USD 300m.

relayr-mockup
Related

More about this topic

You can find out more about Minimum Viable Branding here.

relayr | Name, CD und Website
Introduction

Vom Startup zum Global Player – Naming, MVB, Website und kontinuierlicher Markenaufbau für relayr

Katja Wenger
von Katja Wenger

relayr ist ein Kunde, dem wir uns im besonderen Maße verbunden fühlen – und dessen Erfolgsgeschichte uns auch ein wenig mit Stolz erfüllt. 2013 kamen die Gründer des damals als iThings4U firmierenden IoT Startups mit der Bitte auf uns zu, sie bei der Visualisierung des Investor Pitch Decks zu unterstützen. Wir schufen darauf hin nicht nur ein einprägsames Key Visual, dass die damals noch neue Materie des Internet der Dinge visuell zusammenfasste, sondern schlugen auch einen neuen Namen vor: aus iThings4U wurde relayr.

relayr-grafik
Design Prozess

Minimal Viable Branding

Ein einprägsames Key Visual und ein neuer Name waren schonmal gut, aber für einen erfolgreichen Investor Pitch ist es immer auch hilfreich, eine strategisch passende visuelle Identität zu haben, wenngleich diese bei Startups naturgemäß den Charakter des Vorläufigen hat. Allerdings befand sich relayr ganz am Anfang: es gab eine Geschäftsidee und drei erfahrende Gründer. Ein klassischer Branding Prozess wäre zu aufwändig gewesen und auch falsch, wie sich später zeigen sollte. Denn relayr hatte noch einige "pivots" im Geschäftsmodell vor sich. Also entwickelten wir unser erstes Minimum Viable Brand, basierend auf unserem think moto typischen Discovery Workshop, den wir zwei weitere Male im Laufe der nächsten Jahre machen sollten: nämlich immer dann, wenn sich die Business-Strategie grundlegend änderte.

relayr-mood

„Thank you for guiding us and creating a name to remember! Your creativity helped bring us into the world, give us shape and meaning! It was always a pleasure working with your team!"

– Jackson Bond, Co-Founder & Head of Product, relayr
relayr1
relayr heute

Global Player im IIoT Bereich

Heute, fünf Jahre später, ist relayr die führende Innovationsschmiede für das Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT) und stellt die umfassendste Lösung zur risikofreien digitalen Transformation bereit. relayr gewinnt aus Daten in existierendem industriellen Equipment oder Produktionslinien einzigartige Erkenntnisse, die ihre Kunden zu ihrem wirtschaftlichen Erfolg nutzen können. relayr vertrauen heute Hunderte von Unternehmen weltweit. Im September 2018 erwirbt Munich Re 100% der Anteile an relayr für 300 Millionen US-Dollar.

relayr-mockup
Related

Mehr zum Thema

Mehr zum Thema Minimum Viable Branding finden Sie hier.