Wilo | Mobile App
Introduction

Development of the wilo UX and visual design patterns for a monitoring app

Katja Wenger, Co-founder & Creative Partner
by Katja Wenger, Co-founder & Creative Partner

Wilo is one of the world's leading manufacturers of high-tech pumps and pump systems. With 7000 employees in 60 countries and a turnover of 1.5 billion, the Dortmund-based company has fast grown from a local specialist to a global player, characterised by uncompromising customer service, direct market proximity and a culture of innovation, as captured in its brand promise, “Pioneering for you”. Convinced that digital products should be just as brand-influential as real-world ones, Wilco approached us to develop a control and monitoring iPad app.

wilo_phone_tablet
Discovery

Delving into what counts

The first step in our process is the Discovery workshop, in which we work together with the customer to define the business, the brand and the target group. The Elevator Pitch is one of our tools for understanding the complexity of a company and its key objectives and unique selling propositions.

wilo_elevator_pitch
Strategy & Design

Distilling the essential

We developed the interaction design system for the app in several iterations. At the same time, their technical service provider created a prototype which was continuously developed on the basis of our design. The challenge was to map the unusually high complexity and a large range of functions, which drew upon several very different user profiles to result in an easy-to-use interface.

wilo_ipad
Deliver

Creating a codified design system

The design system we created formed the basis of the app, yet could also be extended according to set rules. Elements of the design system included zoning, colours, displays and buttons. Areas were visually separated from each other by white or dark grey areas on a light grey background, which allowed for the clear bundling of information. We use colour coding to indicate the state of the elements of the system. The design system formed the basis for the brand redesign, which Wilo undertook one year later – and which went on to receive several awards.

wilo_taxonomie_klein
Contact

What can we design for you?

For further information about our services in the area of User Experience Design, Interaction Design and Visual Design, please contact us. We will be happy to show you our extensive portfolio of digital products and services.

Wilo | Mobile App
Introduction

Entwicklung der wilo UX- und Visualdesign Pattern für eine Monitoring App

Katja Wenger
von Katja Wenger

Ziel des Projektes war es für Wilo, einen der weltweit führenden Hersteller von Pumpen und Pumpensystemen im Hightech-Bereich eine Steuerungs- und Monitoring-App für das iPad konzeptionell und gestalterisch zu entwickeln. Mit inzwischen 7000 Mitarbeitern in 60 Ländern und 1,5 Mrd. Umsatz hat sich Wilo vom lokalen Spezialisten zum Global Player entwickelt. Kompromisslose Kundenorientierung, unmittelbare Marktnähe, vor allem aber ihre Innovationskultur zeichnen Wilo aus. Dafür steht auch das Markenversprechen: Pioneering for You. Im Bewusstsein, dass digitale Produkte genauso markenprägend gestaltet werden sollten wie analoge, kam Wilo zu uns.

wilo_phone_tablet
Design Strategie

Strategische Grundlagen

Der erste Schritt in unserem Prozess ist die Discovery und der dazugehörige Workshop, in dem wir gemeinsam mit dem Kunden das Business, die Marke und die Zielgruppe beleuchten. Der Elevator Pitch ist eines unserer Tools, um die Komplexität eines Unternehmens zu erfassen und die wesentlichen Ziele und Alleinstellungsmerkmale eines Unternehmens zu verstehen.

wilo_elevator_pitch
Prozess

Interaction Design

Das Interaction Design für die App erarbeiteten wir in mehreren Iterationen. Parallel entstand beim Technikdienstleister ein Prototyp, der kontinuierlich auf Basis unseres Designs weiterentwickelt wurde. Die Herausforderung bestand darin die ungewöhnliche hohe Komplexität und einen großen Funktionsumfang, der nicht zuletzt aus mehreren sehr unterschiedlichen Anwender-Profilen resultierte, in einem einfach zu bedienenden Interface abzubilden.

wilo_ipad
Das Ergebnis

Visuelle Taxonomie und Zonierung

wilo_taxonomie_klein

Wir haben ein Design-System entwickelt, das der App zugrunde liegt und das anhand der aufgestellten Regeln erweitert werden kann. Elemente des Design-Systems sind Zonierung, Farben, Anzeigen und Schaltflächen. Bereiche werden durch weiße/dunkelgraue Flächen auf grauem Grund visuell voneinander abgegrenzt und Informationen so gebündelt. Um den Zustand von Elementen der Anlage zu zeigen nutzen wir einen Farbcode. Das Design-System bildete die Basis für das Marken-Redesign, das Wilo ein Jahr später unternahm und das mehrfach ausgezeichnet wurde.

Kontakt

Noch Fragen?

Für weitere Informationen zu unseren Leistungen im Bereich User Experience Design, Interaction Design und Visual Design, schreiben Sie uns. Wir zeigen Ihnen gerne unser umfangreiches Portfolio an digitalen Produkten und Services.