Audi | Brand Personality

Defining AUDIs Brand Personality

We use the term living brands to denote that brands exist within an ecosystem of users and other brands, and that they are engaged in a process of constant development and optimization. Living brands are hyper-personalized, intelligent and focused on the user context. Against this backdrop, we have worked with the Audi CI team to define a vibrant brand personality that will help Audi to achieve a sustainable brand behavior that leads to a long-term relevant and successful brand experience while remaining true to the core of the brand.

From status quo to vision

We started the collaborative work with the Audi CI team by conducting a discovery workshop to create a clear vision of the brand experience by choosing key brand archetypes and our "Brand as Person" exercise, which focuses on how the brand would look, behave and be described if it were a human being. We did this exercise twice – first to find out how the Audi team currently sees the brand, and then with the goal of shaping a vision for 2030 to create a vector for development.
In order to also take the consumer perspective into account, we conducted vox pops with people matching Audi's strategic target group. Last but not least, our analyses also included the current corporate strategy.

circle

Defining the brand personality

Combining our business, brand and user findings, we derived and clustered adjectives to condense the brand personality into four concise attributes that can be transferred into relevant benefits for the user at all touch points: personal, proactive, flexible and intelligent.
The next step was to translate the brand behavior into brand filters – a tool we use to apply the brand personality to design. The brand filters ensure that the brand's strategically defined personality is considered in all sub-areas of experience design such as look & feel, interactions, animation or tone of voice. The central question at this point is: "If we want the brand to be experienced as personal, proactive, flexible and intelligent, what does this mean for the look and feel or the content of a website, for example?“
In the case of Audi, we have extended the brand filters beyond the merely digital realm to include dimensions of physical product design such as interior, exterior and light design.

markenfilter

Using brand filters in daily work

As a proof of concept, we evaluated the current Audi and myAudi websites with the help of the brand filters to identify their potential for improvement in the direction of the desired brand experience.
In addition, we used the brand filters as part of a new service journey to demonstrate how the brand personality can be experienced in different dimensions and volumes depending on the context.
Finally, we answered the question of how the brand personality can be integrated into business processes and how its concrete impact can be measured using KPIs.

balkendiagramm

Ready for the future

Through our work, we supported the Audi CI team on its path from rigid brand management to a sustainable living brand approach that enables a consistent yet flexible brand direction.
With the brand personality and the brand filters, we provided the team with a central steering and monitoring tool that enables the CI team to define and evaluate the behavior of the Audi brand at different touchpoints and in different contexts of the customer lifecycle.

Audi | Markenpersönlichkeit

Entwicklung einer zukunftsorientierten Markenpersönlichkeit

Der Begriff Living Brands beschreibt treffend, dass sich Marken als Teil eines Ökosystems 
aus Nutzern und anderen Marken in einem Prozess der ständigen Weiterentwicklung und Optimierung befinden. Living Brands sind hyperpersonalisiert, intelligent und auf den Nutzerkontext ausgerichtet.


Gemeinsam mit dem CI-Team von Audi haben wir eine solche lebendige Markenpersönlichkeit definiert, auf der gleichzeitig das zukünftige Markenverhalten aufbaut. Sie ermöglicht Audi ein langfristig relevantes und dadurch erfolgreiches Markenerlebnis und bleibt gleichzeitig dem Kern der Marke treu.

Vom Status Quo zur Vision

Wir starteten mit dem Audi-Team in einem Discovery Workshop, um eine klare Vision des Markenerlebnisses zu erarbeiten. Dafür verwendeten wir zentrale Markenarchetypen und fragten in unserer Übung „Marke als Person“, wie die Marke Audi als Mensch aussehen, agieren und wahrgenommen werden würde. Wir wollten herausfinden, wo das Team die Marke derzeit positioniert sieht, aber auch ein Zukunftsbild für das Jahr 2030 entwerfen und so der Marke einen Rahmen für ihre Weiterentwicklung geben.


Außerdem führten wir Vox Pops durch, also Umfragen unter Personen, die zur strategischen Zielgruppe von Audi gehören. Neben dieser so ermittelten Konsumentenperspektive floss außerdem die aktuelle Unternehmensstrategie in unsere Analysen mit ein.

circle

Definition der Markenpersönlichkeit

Unsere Ergebnisse aus Marken-, Nutzer- und Businesssicht beschrieben und clusterten wir in Adjektiven. Zur Markenpersönlichkeit passten die vier prägnanten Attribute: persönlich, proaktiv, flexibel und intelligent. Diese gelten für sämtliche Touchpoints, also sämtliche Berührungspunkte der Marke mit dem Nutzer, und garantieren eine einheitliche, positive Nutzererfahrung.

Im nächsten Schritt haben wir diese Attribute in Markenfilter übersetzt – ein Werkzeug, mit dem wir die Markenpersönlichkeit auf das Design übertragen. Die Markenfilter stellen sicher, dass die strategisch definierte Persönlichkeit in der Gestaltung aller Markensignaturen berücksichtigt wird. Wir fragten deshalb: „Wenn wir wollen, dass die Marke als persönlich, proaktiv, flexibel und intelligent erlebt wird, was bedeutet das zum Beispiel für das Look-and-feel oder den Content einer Website?“

Bei Audi haben wir die Markenfilter über die rein digitale Gestaltung hinaus um Dimensionen der physischen Produktgestaltung wie Interior-, Exterior- und Lichtdesign erweitert.

markenfilter

Nutzung der Markenfilter in der täglichen Arbeit

Als Proof of Concept haben wir die aktuellen Websites von Audi und myAudi mit Hilfe der Markenfilter bewertet, und so ihr Verbesserungspotenzial in Richtung des angestrebten Markenerlebnisses aufgezeigt.

Diese Markenfilter haben wir auch im Rahmen einer neuen Service Journey eingesetzt, um erlebbar zu machen, wie sich die Markenpersönlichkeit je nach Kontext in Facette und Lautstärke ändert.


Schließlich zeigten wir, wie die Markenpersönlichkeit in die Unternehmensprozesse integriert und durch KPI in ihrer konkreten Wirkung gemessen werden kann.

balkendiagramm

Bereit für die Zukunft

Mit unserer Arbeit haben wir das CI-Team von Audi auf seinem Weg von einem starren Brand Management hin zu einem zukunftsfähigen Living-Brand-Ansatz unterstützt, der eine konsistente und gleichzeitig flexible Ausgestaltung der Marke ermöglicht.


Mit der Markenpersönlichkeit und den Markenfiltern haben wir ein zentrales Steuerungs- und Prüfinstrument definiert, mit dem das CI-Team das Verhalten der Marke Audi an verschiedenen Touchpoints und innerhalb des Customer-Life-Cycles jederzeit festlegen und überprüfen kann.


Noch mehr Audi

Bist du auch auf die anderen Audi-Projekte neugierig geworden, wie beispielsweise der Entwicklung eines Sprachassistenten oder einer ganzheitlichen Customer Journey?