lexoffice | Chatbot Sales Campaign

The world's smartest discount - a chatbot based sales campaign for lexoffice

There are countless sales campaigns out there. Black Friday and Cyber Week motivate marketers every year anew with special offers and discounts to compete for the favour and purse of potential customers.

So lexoffice, Germanys no. 1 online office software for freelancers and entrepreneurs, approached us with a discount campaign briefing about their accounting products. The discount mechanism: The more new customers lexoffice acquires during the campaign period, the longer the 100% discount applies to all campaign participants, which allows them to use the software free of charge.

The goal of the campaign? To reward satisfied customers who recommend the product and at the same time acquire new customers for lexoffice.

visual_produkt

Smart and Interactive - a discount like no other

100% discount is an unbeatable offer. But the most interesting trigger for our creative campaign approach was the interactive rebate mechanism, which presented us with a communicative challenge due to its complexity and need for explanation.

Easy to understand and extraordinary - these were the two guiding principles of the campaign development. Lui, the interactive accounting expert at lexoffice, was born from this claim.

As a campaign chatbot, Lui lives on a landing page and in Facebook Messenger. No endless explanations, FAQs and terms and conditions that the user has to fight his way through: just Lui, who playfully triggers attention and gives practical advice in a likeable and competent manner.

With Lui we created a communicative campaign platform that focuses on the simplicity of the product and makes it tangible. A campaign that lives up to its campaign claim "Keep Calm and Just Smile" at all levels.

Agile approach and team work for an innovative campaign idea

Lui has a smart and simple personality. However, its genesis was quite complex. Within only six weeks, from idea development to go-live, many different sub-projects emerged from a simple campaign briefing with the decision to use a chatbot as an innovative campaign vehicle.

Each sub-project presented our team with a variety of challenges. Strategy, bot personality, conversational UX, programming of landing page and chatbot, conversational and visual design as well as claim development and production of the campaign assets ran parallel within the short period of time.

This requires not only a multi-faceted skillset, but also a flexible, proactive and anticipative way of working. With the organisation in agile weekly sprints and the transparent and productive exchange between all stakeholders, especially with our technology partner Cognigy.AI, the complexity of the project could be productively managed and successfully mastered.

arbeitssituation_3
arbeitssituation_4
arbeitssituation
arbeitssituation_2

Lui as a service bot – moving beyond the sales campaign

100% discount, 0% accounting effort - what started as a temporary sales campaign has turned into a sustainable communication tool – thanks Lui. While launching the campaign, lexoffice already made one decision: Lui will survive the discount campaign and continue to interact with customers and potential new customers as a smart accounting expert for lexoffice.

With the chatbot originally designed for the campaign, lexoffice got a tool at hand that makes use of the most natural and direct way of interacting with their customers.

"Awesome. New thinking was important to us, detached, from the front - and then not backing down during the implementation. think moto fulfilled our expectations 100% and was extremely fast. If you want to achieve something together, you've come to the right place. A clear recommendation!

– Michael Schönstein, Senior Business Architect Marketing at lexoffice

Lui shows the potential of Conversational Experiences

Chatbot Lui is not the first branded bot, but probably the first one that has been designed and implemented in a targeted manner in three respects, thereby exploiting the full potential of dialogical touchpoints.

Conversational first!

While other chat bots are developed as website add-ons, Lui with its purely dialog-oriented landing page puts the conversational experience at the center of attention.

Personality counts!

While other chat bots are often designed from a technical point of view, Lui has a real personality that makes the brand unique and uniquely tangible.

Consistently user-centered!

While other chat bots operate solely from a business perspective, Lui manages to guide different target groups through the pre-sales and sales funnel via user-centered, target-group-specific user journeys.

The result: 41% more turnover!

Lui paid full tribute to the primary campaign goal, the acquisition of new customers. Overall, almost 40% of the users who entered Lui's landing page started a conversation with the likeable, characterful accounting expert. Of the users who talked to Lui, almost 12% bought the product and thus became new lexoffice customers.

With a conversion rate of 4.5%, Lui was clearly above the average of the conventional lexoffice website and 41% above the Black-Friday campaign in the previous year. On Cyber Monday, more licenses were sold than ever before in one day.


Sustainable investment: Lui lives on!

Lui has impressed and convinced as a central part of the sales campaign. So much so that lexoffice will make it the central part not only of the marketing, but also of the product.

Learn more about our design process and our results in the film about Lui on Vimeo.

abschluss

Learn more about our conversational design process at www.brandedconversations.com.

lexoffice | Chatbot-basierte Sales-Kampagne

Der smarteste Rabatt der Welt – innovative, chatbasierte Rabattkampagne für lexoffice

Rabattaktionen gibt es viele. Mit Formaten wie Black Friday und Cyber Week werben Marketeers regelmäßig mit Sonder- und Rabattaktionen um Gunst und Geld potenzieller Kunden.

Auch lexoffice, der führende Anbieter für Online-Bürosoftware für Freelancer und Unternehmer, plante eine Rabattkampagne. Allerdings nicht irgendeine: Mit einer ganz besonderen Rabattmechanik wollte er Neukunden für seine Buchhaltungssoftware gewinnen. Das Besondere dabei: Die Kunden beeinflussten selbst, wie lange sie den Aktionsrabatt von 100 Prozent nutzen konnten. Denn je mehr Neukunden im Kampagnenzeitraum lexoffice kauften, desto länger galt für alle Aktionsteilnehmer der hundertprozentige Rabatt und damit die kostenlose Nutzung der Software.

lexoffice zielte mit dieser Aktion darauf ab, nicht nur möglichst viele Neukunden zu gewinnen, sondern gleichzeitig auch Bestandskunden zu belohnen, die das Produkt weiterempfahlen.

visual_produkt

Interaktiv und smart – so einen Rabatt gab es noch nie

100 Prozent Rabatt sind ein unschlagbares Argument. Für die Entwicklung der Kreativkampagne war vor allem die interaktive Rabattmechanik interessant – denn es galt, das komplexe Rabattsystem leicht verständlich auf der Website von Lexoffice einzubinden. Aus kommunikativer Sicht eine spannende Herausforderung!

Verständlich und außergewöhnlich lautete dann auch unser Leitsatz für die Kampagnenentwicklung. Und wer ist besser dazu geeignet, dem Nutzer ein komplexes Produkt auf anschauliche Weise entgegenzubringen, als ein smarter Chatbot? Das war die Geburtsstunde von Lui, dem interaktiven Buchhaltungsexperten von lexoffice.

Und Lui ist nicht irgendein Chatbot, der unauffällig irgendwo auf der Website sein Dasein fristet. Nein, als Kampagnen-Chatbot begrüßt Lui den Nutzer gleich auf der Landingpage und im Facebook Messenger. Er sorgt dafür, dass sich niemand durch lange Erklärungen, FAQ und Teilnahmebedingungen klicken muss, sondern nimmt in Empfang und leitet. Und das auf so sympathische Art und Weise, dass er nicht nur spielerisch für Aufmerksamkeit sorgt, sondern ebenso spielerisch wichtige Informationen vermittelt.

Lui wurde so zum Hauptakteur der von uns entwickelten kommunikativen Kampagnenplattform, die das Produkt einfach erklärt und erfahrbar macht. Eine Kampagne, die ihrem Claim „Keep calm and just smile“ auf allen Ebenen gerecht wird.

Mit Agilität und Teamwork zu einer innovativen Kampagnenidee

Obwohl Lui so smart und unkompliziert daherkommt, ist seine Entstehungsgeschichte deutlich komplexer. Denn mit der Entscheidung für einen Chatbot waren aus einem einfachen Kampagnenbriefing viele Teilprojekte entstanden. Und von der Ideenentwicklung bis zum Go Live blieben uns sechs Wochen.

Jedes Teilprojekt betraf ganz unterschiedliche Bereiche und stellte unser Team entsprechend vor Herausforderungen. Angefangen von Strategie, Konzeption und der Entwicklung der Botpersönlichkeit über die Programmierung von Landingpage und Chatbot bis hin zu Conversational und Visual Design, Claimentwicklung sowie Konzeption und Produktion der Kampagnenassets, arbeiteten wir parallel an zahlreichen Aufgaben.

Diese erforderten nicht nur ein facettenreiches Skillset, sondern ebenso eine flexible, aktive und vorausschauende Arbeitsweise. Dank unserer Organisation in agilen Wochensprints und des ständigen Austauschs mit allen Stakeholdern – unter anderen mit unserem Technologiepartner Cognigy.AI – konnten wir die Komplexität des Projektes produktiv steuern und erfolgreich bewältigen.

arbeitssituation_3
arbeitssituation_4
arbeitssituation
arbeitssituation_2

Temporär wird permanent – Lui als bleibendes Kommunikationstool

100 Prozent Rabatt, null Prozent Buchhaltungsstress – was als temporäre Rabattkampagne begann, entwickelte sich dank Lui zu einer dauerhaften Art der Kommunikation. Auch nach der Rabattaktion wird Lui als smarter Buchhaltungsexperte von lexoffice mit Kunden und potenziellen Neukunden interagieren.

Mit dem Chatbot haben wir so lexoffice ein Tool an die Hand gegeben, das für eine gelungene Kommunikation zwischen Mensch und Marke unverzichtbar ist: Denn was könnte natürlicher, direkter und kundenorientierter sein als der Dialog?

„Großartig. Uns war neues Denken wichtig, losgelöst, von vorne – und dann nicht kneifen bei der Umsetzung. think moto hat unsere Erwartungen zu 100 % erfüllt und war extrem schnell. Wer gemeinsam etwas erreichen möchte, ist hier genau richtig. Ganz klare Weiterempfehlung!“

– Michael Schönstein, Senior Business Architect Marketing bei lexoffice

Lui zeigt es – das Potenzial von Conversational Experiences

Chatbot Lui ist nicht der erste Markenbot, wahrscheinlich aber einer der ersten, der gleich in dreierlei Hinsicht das Potenzial dialogischer Touchpoints voll ausschöpft.

Conversations Matter

Lui holt den Nutzer gleich zu Beginn auf der Landingpage ab und lädt ihn sofort zum Dialog mit ihm ein. Diese direkte Art zu kommunizieren behält Lui konsequent bei. Andere Chatbots werden dagegen oft nur als wenig prägnantes Website-Add-On entwickelt.


Eine Frage der Persönlichkeit

Lui hat eine echte Persönlichkeit, die die Marke eindeutig und einzigartig erfahrbar macht. Andere Chatbots werden dagegen oft nur aus rein technischer Sicht entwickelt und sind als Persönlichkeit nicht erlebbar.

User-Centered Design

Lui hat den Nutzer immer im Blick. Dank zielgruppenspezifischer User Journeys führt er ganz unterschiedliche Nutzergruppen zu den Informationen und Produkten, die für sie relevant sind. Andere Chatbots agieren dagegen oft allein aus Business-Sicht.

41 Prozent mehr Umsatz können sich sehen lassen!

Es zeigte sich, dass Lui vor allem Neukunden motivierte und so dem vorrangigen Kampagnenziel der Neukundengewinnung mehr als gerecht wurde. Knapp 40 Prozent aller Nutzer, die auf der Landingpage einstiegen, begannen mit Lui ein Gespräch. Knapp 40 Prozent aller Nutzer erlagen also dem Charme des sympathischen, digitalen Buchhaltungsexperten. Davon wiederum kauften knapp 12 Prozent das Produkt und wurden damit zu lexoffice-Neukunden.

Lui lag mit einer Conversion Rate von 4,5 Prozent damit deutlich über dem Durchschnitt der klassischen lexoffice-Website und 41 Prozent über der Black-Friday-Kampagne des Vorjahres. Am Cyber Monday wurden sogar mehr Lizenzen verkauft als je zuvor.


Lui wächst, und wie!

Lui hat in der Sales-Kampagne so überzeugt, dass er für lexoffice in Zukunft nicht nur zentraler Bestandteil des Marketings, sondern auch des Produktes sein wird.

Die User wird es freuen! Und uns auch.


Noch mehr Lui

Mehr über die Hintergründe von Lui erfährst du in diesem Film auf Vimeo.

abschluss

Mehr zum Thema

Wenn du mehr über unseren Designprozess bei Branded Conversations wissen möchtest, bist du hier genau richtig.