Miles and More | Design Fictions

New Premium and the Future of the Loyalty Program

Katja Wenger, Co-founder & Creative Partner
by Katja Wenger, Co-founder & Creative Partner

What does the future hold for Miles & More’s frequent flyer program? This was the exciting question that the Lufthansa subsidiary came to us with. Their goal: the development of a loyalty and reward programme for frequent travellers, driven by digital services. Our question: How does premium feel in the digital world, and how can this be conveyed through digital brand management? These were amongst the considerations framing our first vision project for Miles and More, in which we explored the future of the frequent flyer and rewards programme in a multi-stage process.

mam_02
Discovery

Imagining the future of premium

In the initial discovery phase, we further developed already-defined personas, supplemented by an extrapolation of the customer journey and a touchpoint analysis. Upon these foundations – supported by intensive user research – we examined what premium status looks like in the digital sphere. Our second phase involved us extrapolating the results: What should premium look like in the future? How do we make status a reality in the future?

In order to better understand the needs of Miles & More's target groups, we used a variety of methods tailored to the project. In addition to individual interviews, we employed the technique of cultural probes, a user diary study aimed at finding out more about the target audience's motivations, barriers, needs, wishes and behaviours. Guided by these insights, we launched the ideation phase of the project.

mam_cultural_probes
Ideation

Developing a future state scenario

Over the course of two ideation workshops, we worked together with the Miles & More team to generate numerous ideas and concepts for services, as well as communication and product improvement. Based on our workshop results, we defined an idealised (future state) scenario and outlined the relevant user throughout the journey. Based on the scenario, we proposed strategic fields of action.

mam_03_b
Design

Agile future visualisation

We tested the chosen future state scenario and the selected ideas for the different touchpoints throughout the course of several design sprints. The goal was to generate a fictional visual idea for the future and to render it tangible, conceivable and presentable.

mam_04
Related

Want more?

We share our insights on how cultural probes made our user research even better on our blog brandnewthinking.de and on Medium.

Contact

What can we design for you?

If you’d like to work together, drop us a line at hi@thinkmoto.de. We look forward to hearing from you.

Miles and More | Design Fictions
Introduction

New Premium und die Zukunft des Loyalitätsprogramms

Katja Wenger
von Katja Wenger

Wie sieht die Zukunft des Vielfliegerprogramms Miles and More aus? Mit dieser spannenden Frage kam Miles and More zu uns. Das erklärte Ziel: Ein Prämien- und Loyalitätsprogramm für Vielflieger entwickelt sich zum umfassenden, durch digitale Services getriebenen Premium-Loyalitätsprogramm. Die Fragestellung an uns: Wie fühlt sich Premium in der digitalen Welt an und wie lässt sich das in der digitalen Markenführung vermitteln? So entstand das unser erstes Visionsprojekt für Miles and More, in dem wir in einem mehrstufigen Prozess die Zukunft des Vielflieger- und Prämienprogramm exploriert haben.

mam_02
Discovery

Discovery Phase

In der initialen Discovery Phase entwickelten wir bereits definierte Personas weiter, ergänzt durch eine Customer Journey und eine Touchpoint Analyse. Anhand dieser und einem begleitenden intensiven User Research untersuchten wir, was Status und (New) Premium in der digitalen Welt bedeuten. In einem zweiten Schritt extrapolierten wir die Ergebnisse: Wie muss Premium in der Zukunft aussehen? Wie machen wir Status in der Zukunft erlebbar?

Um die Bedürfnisse der Zielgruppen von Miles & More besser zu verstehen verwendeten wir verschiedene, auf das Projekt zugeschnittene Methoden. Neben Einzelinterviews führten wir Cultural Probes durch, Nutzertagebuchstudien, deren Ziel es ist, mehr über Motivation und Barrieren, Bedürfnisse, Wünsche und Verhaltensweisen der Zielgruppe zu erfahren. Mit diesen Insights begannen wir die Ideation Phase des Projekts.

mam_cultural_probes
Ideation

Future State Scenario

In zwei Ideation-Workshops wurden zusammen mit dem Team von Miles & More zahlreiche Ideen und Konzepte für Services, Kommunikation und Produktverbesserung generiert. Auf Basis der Workshopergebnisse definierten wir ein idealisiertes (Future State) Szenario und skizzierten die in der Journey relevanten Touchpoints aus Nutzersicht. Auf Basis der Szenarien leiteten wir die strategischen Handlungsfelder ab.

mam_03_b
Design

Agil zur Visualisierung der Zukunft

Basierend auf dem Future State Szenario und den selektierten Ideen für die verschiedenen Touchpoints verprobten wir diese in mehreren Design Sprints. Ziel war es eine fiktive visuelle Vorstellung für die Zukunft zu generieren, und damit greifbar, vorstellbar und vorzeigbar zu machen. mam_04