Volkswagen | AR/VR/MR Pattern Library
Introduction

Defining Brand Patterns for Virtual, Augmented and Mixed Reality

Marco Spies, Co-founder and Managing Partner at think moto
by Marco Spies, Co-founder and Managing Partner at think moto

Setting the scene for new and extended realities

In 2017, a leading German automobile manufacturer approached us with the task of developing a uniform, brand-specific user experience for all future virtual reality, mixed reality and augmented reality media, and documenting this in a pattern library. The company itself speaks of "New Realities", while others now speak of "Extended Reality". Augmented Reality was one of the trending topics in 2018 and though customer naming is not possible here for internal reasons, our client is leading the way in this area as the first to explicitly develop cross-brand design patterns for these new forms of digital media.

Process

An Agile design process

In our strategic design process, we initially incorporated requirements from brands, business and user perspectives and defined the personality of the brand, then used these to derived brand filters for the new realities. The first VR patterns were then developed in a design direction and incorporated into a VR prototype for a dealer application. Subsequently, all central design patterns for VR and AR were developed and documented in a pattern library and prepared for further use in future apps. The AR patterns are already used in an AR mobile app.

cardboard
Deliverables

Developing a consistent brand experience in a cost-effective way

For the first time, design patterns for VR/AR were developed from the brand’s perspective, for use in all brand applications. The partnership with our client was tight-knit and productive. The result of our collaborative work took the form of a pattern library for extended realities, which is now agilely developed and regularly optimised, and which not only guarantees uniform UX in all XR applications, but also sustainably reduces the costs for the development of new applications.

pattern
Insights

Considerations for new dimensions

The rethinking was exciting and instructive for our 2D-tested digital brand designers, since completely different laws apply in this sphere, in particular to virtual reality. Designing the holistic experience of a virtual world presents special challenges, because every parameter has to be defined (from the brand perspective). Aspects such as spatial dimensions, architecture, movement, light and sound and the physical behaviour of objects have to be considered.

The prototyping of VR and AR applications is of particular importance. A design pattern that is documented and made available for repeated use must first be tested. We used cardboard-based prototyping for VR, and created animated sequences, design patterns and videos.

vrjessi
Related

Want more?

We also share our insights on the design of virtual, augmented, and mixed reality on our blog Brand New Thinking and on Medium.

The project has been introduced by Marco Spies and Marcus Gawron (Volkswagen) at the CXI conference 2019.



What can we design for you?

If you’d like to work together, drop us a line at hi@thinkmoto.de. We look forward to hearing from you.

Volkswagen | AR/VR/MR Pattern Library

Markenprägende Design Pattern für Virtual, Augmented und Mixed Reality

Marco Spies, Co-founder
von Marco Spies, Co-founder

Volkswagen trat 2017 mit der Aufgabe an uns heran, eine einheitliche, markenspezifische User Experience für alle künftigen Virtual Reality, Mixed Reality und Augmented Reality zu entwickeln und in einer Pattern Library zu dokumentieren. VW spricht dabei von „New Realities“, andere sprechen mittlerweile von „Extended Reality“. Augmented Reality ist eines der trending topics in 2018 und Volkswagen geht hier voran, als erste, die explizit markenübergreifende Design Pattern für diese neuen digitalen Medien entwickeln.

Prozess

Agiler Gestaltungsprozess

In unseren designstrategischen Prozess haben wir zunächst Anforderungen aus Marken, Business und Nutzersicht aufgenommen, die Persönlichkeit der Marke Volkswagen definiert und daraus Markenfilter für die neuen Realitäten abgeleitet. Es wurden dann in einer Design Direction erste VR-Pattern entwickelt, die in einen VR Prototypen zum VW Tiguan eingeflossen sind. Anschließend wurden alle zentralen Design Pattern für AR und VR entwickelt und in einer (derzeit noch statischen) Pattern Library dokumentiert und für die weitere Verwendung aufbereitet. Die AR Pattern kommen bereits in einer AR-App zum Einsatz, die Razorfish für Volkswagen entwickelt hat und die erstmals Ende März in Peking zum Einsatz kam.

cardboard
Ergebnisse

Kosteneffiziente Entwicklung künftiger Anwendungen

Erstmals wurden Design Pattern für VR/AR aus der Marke heraus und für alle Anwendungen der Marke entwickelt. Die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kunden war eng und produktiv. Das Ergebnis: eine Pattern Library für Extended Realities, die nun agil weiterentwickelt und regelmäßig optimiert wird und die nicht nur eine einheitliche UX in allen Volkswagen-Anwendungen gewährleistet, sondern auch die Kosten für die Entwicklung neuer Anwendung nachhaltig senkt.

pattern
Insights

Neue Dimensionen

Spannend und lehrreich war das Umdenken für unsere 2D-erprobten digitalen Markendesigner, denn insbesondere in der Virtual Reality gelten völlig andere Gesetze. Die holistische Erfahrung einer virtuellen Welt zu gestalten birgt besondere Herausforderungen, denn jeder Parameter muss (aus Markensicht) definiert werden. Aspekte wie räumliche Dimensionen, Architektur, Bewegung, Licht und Klang und das physische Verhalten von Objekten sind zu berücksichtigen.

Dem Prototyping von VR und AR Anwendungen kommt eine besondere Bedeutung zu. Ein Design Pattern, dass dokumentiert und zur wiederholten Verwendung bereitgestellt wird, muss zuvor getestet werden. Dabei haben wir auf Cardboard-basiertes Prototyping für VR gesetzt, aber auch Sequenzen und Design Pattern animiert und Videos erstellt.

vrjessi
Related

Mehr zum Thema Extended Realities

Wir teilen unsere Insights zur Gestaltung von Virtual-, Augmented-, und Mixed-Reality auf unserem Blog Brandnewthinking.de und auf Medium.

Das Projekt wurde von Marco Spies (think moto) und Marcus Gawron (Volkswagen) auf der größten Corporate Design Konferenz CXI 2019 vorgestellt.